Four Gatemen Named to West Team Squad for CCBL All-Star Game

The Wareham Gatemen will be well represented at the annual CCBL All-Star Game on July 29th at Fenway Park in Boston.  Starting pitcher Justin Amlung (Louisville) and Gatemen closer Konner Wade (Arizona) will be joined by INF Max Muncy (Baylor) and OF John Andreoli (UCONN) on the Western Division All-Star team.


For the third consecutive season, the Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game will be returning to Fenway Park in Boston, Massachusetts.  The 2011 game, sponsored by Jordan’s Furniture, will be held on Friday, July 29th at 7:05pm and tickets are only S10.00.  Tickets are available through the CCBL website at www.capecodbaseball.orgor or by called 877-REDSOX-9.  Tickets will also be available to purchase as CCBL games this summer.  All seats will be sold as general admission seating.


The 18-16 Gatemen are sending a diverse group of talented players to the All-Star game.  Justin Amlung has been the ace of the Wareham pitching staff all season long and Konner Wade has been the anchor; evolving quickly as one of the top closers in the Cape Cod Baseball League.  Max Muncy has started and played in every game for Wareham this season and is the heart of the Gatemen lineup as the most productive offensive player.  John Andreoli will bring his speed and high batting average to Boston rounding out the quartet of Wareham All-Stars.


Amlung is 3-1 on the season with a 1.76 earned run average.  His 3 wins are tied for 2nd in the CCBL and his era is good for 7th overall.  From Louisville, Amlung has started 7 games and has allowed only 8 earned runs over 41 innings and has struck out 29.


Konner Wade is tied for the league lead and is tops in the Western Division with 8 saves.  He has made 13 appearences and has a 1.62 era and a 1-1 record.  His 8 saves place him tied for 7th on Wareham’s all-time single season list.


Max Muncy has been one of the top hitters in the league for the 2nd consecutive season.  A year after he finished 2nd in the league in RBI, Muncy has followed up on the 2010 season with a well deserved All-Star roster spot.  Max is hitting .294 with 18 rbi and a homerun.  His homer was a walk-off, 3 run blast that gave the Gatemen an important win over the Chatham Anglers at Spillane Field.  His 18 rbi are tied for the 4th most in the league and he is 5th in the league with a total of 35 hits.


Like Muncy, this is John Andreoli’s 2nd year on the Cape and since arriving from the Super Regionals after the most succesful year in UCONN baseball history, he has been a spark in the Gatemen lineup; hitting 2nd on most nights.  He is hitting a team high .329, has 7 rbi and 7 stolen bases.  He has 6 multiple hit games; including a 4-hit night vs Hyannis on July 2nd.  John started the 2010 season on the Brewster Whitecaps roster before being released and picked up by the Gatemen last season. Invited back, Andreoli has earned a spot amoung the league’s best.


The All-Star Game format will feature the traditional East vs. West matchup and will be preceded by a pre-game homerun derby and autograph session.  This will be the 47th CCBL All-Star game.  Last year’s game featured five Wareham Gatemen players; including catcher Tony Caldwell (Auburn), pitcher Jed Bradley (Georgia Tech), pitcher Max Perlman (Harvard), 3B Tyler Bream (Liberty) and CCBL West Team MVP Zach Wilson (Arizona State).


The starting pitcher for the West team with be Ryan Eades (LSU) from Bourne and he will opposed by Taylor Rogers (Kentucky) who plays for the Harwich Mariners. (see full roster below)


Wareham has  a proud tradition of CCBL All-Stars including former and current MLB players such as Mo Vaughn, Chuck Knoblauch, Matt Murton, Daniel Bard, Carlos Pena, Mike Fontenot, Ryan Theriot, Aaron Hill, David Murphy, Jeremy Sowers, Andy LaRoche, Justin Masterson and Wade LeBlanc.


Check back often to and follow us on Twitter at for more information on the 2011 All-Star game in the  coming days.


West Division All Stars:

Pitcher:             Ryan Eades                  Bourne                 LSU

Pitcher:             Josh Conway                Bourne                 Coastal Carolina

Pitcher:             John Farrell                  Bourne                 William & Mary

Pitcher:             Dietrich Enns               Hyannis                Central Michigan

Pitcher:             Scott Firth                    Hyannis                Clemson

Pitcher:             Konner Wade              Wareham             Arizona

Pitcher:             Justin Amlung             Wareham             Louisville

Pitcher:             John Simms                 Falmouth              Rice

Pitcher:             Bobby Wahl                Cotuit                   Mississippi

Catcher:            Patrick Cantwell         Bourne                 Stony Brook

Catcher:            Kevin Plawecki           Hyannis               Purdue

1B:                    Max Muncy                Wareham             Baylor

2B:                    Jake Rodriguez           Falmouth             Oregon State

SS:                     Deven Marrero          Cotuit                   Arizona State

3B:                    Colin Moran               Bourne                 North Carolina

Utility INF:         Eric Stamets              Hyannis               Evansvile

OF:                   Travis Jankowsky        Bourne                Stony Brook

OF:                   Jeremy Baltz               Falmouth             St. John’s

OF:                   John Andreoli             Wareham             UCONN

OF:                   Joey Rickard               Hyannis               Arizona

DH:                   Victor Roache            Cotuit                  Georgia Southern


East Division All Stars:

Pitcher:             Taylor Rogers          Harwich                Kentucky

Pitcher:             Austin Voth             Brewster               Washington

Pitcher:             Chris Overman         Harwich               NC State

Pitcher:             Carter Capps           Harwich                Mount Olive

Pitcher:             Trevor Gott             Orleans                 Kentucky

Pitcher:             J.T. Chargois            Brewster              Rice

Pitcher:             Tyler Johnson          Orleans                Stony Brook

Pitcher:             Tony Bucciferro      Brewster               Michigan State

Pitcher :            Matt Koch               Chatham               Louisville

Catcher:            Luke Voit                 Harwich               Missouri State

Catcher:            Dane Phillips           Chatham              Oklahoma State

1B:                    Ben Waldrip             Orleans                Jacksonville State

2B:                    Ryan Jones              Brewster              Michigan State

SS:                    Matt Duffy               Orleans                Long Beach State

3B:                    Stephen Piscotty     Y-D                       Stanford

Utility INF:        Jabari Henry            Harwich               Florida International

OF:                   Jason Monda           Brewster              Washington State

OF:                   James Ramsey         Y-D                       Florida State

OF:                   Cody Keefer            Y-D                         UCLA

OF:                   Andrew Toles           Brewster              Tennessee

DH:                   Mason Katz             Y-D                        LSU


Comments are closed